top of page

Stories from the Past ...


I have a fundamental belief that 'history' is interesting and fun.

Hopefully that comes across to those who attend my talks and walks.

Certainly I am always heartened when someone says how much they enjoy my antics and especially when they say they found the history that I have shared with them both interesting and informative.

At the same time I find it sad that so many admit that they found 'history' at school boring and dull - and that as a consequence they have been put off it for life.

For me history is about people - people like you and me. With all their qualities and strengths, and with all their foibles and weaknesses. I have added some stories to this web site. Mainly about my family. My ancestors. My father who alledgedly threw a brick at Oswald Moseley, then volunteered to do his bit against another dictator. And who - judging by this photo - knew how to enjoy life.

My mother who went from serving tea and biscuits to cinema audiences to making munitions, who found out she had a life-threatening illness, went dancing and met my father. And others such as William Darvill who died in World War One and my wife's father Ray, who escaped the dangers of working underground as a miner by volunteering to fly in Lancaster bombers where the chance of survival was incrediubly poor (fortunately for me he beat the odds).

So why not click on the 'Family History' and 'History' buttons and find out more about these amazing people and the times they lived through. Its called 'history' and its fascinating. Honest!

 FOLLOW ME ......... 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page